PT PriceTape

Pricing › LLM APIs › Mistral AI vs OpenAI

Mistral AI vs OpenAI pricing

What Mistral AI and OpenAI each publish about pricing, every dated change on their own pages, and what government buyers paid. Side by side, each line with its source.

Mistral AI

Mistral AI publishes pricing at mistral.ai/pricing (as of PriceTape's capture on Nov 3, 2026).

Changes on their pages

observed between Oct 1, 2026 and Oct 7, 2026

Adds Mistral Large 4 at Half-Price Sale

product from an archived copy

Government contracts

Land Hessen, vertreten durch die Hessische Zentrale für Datenverarbeitungawarded Jul 2, 2026

7,800,000 EUR

TED award notice total value, as the notice states it

awardedseats not stated

Source: TED453996-2026

Ministère des Affaires étrangères et européennes, de la Défense, de la Coopération et du Commerce extérieur-Direction de la Défenseawarded Jul 28, 2025

4,880,000 EUR

TED award notice total value, as the notice states it

awardedseats not stated

Source: TED492208-2025

Centre des technologies de l'information de l'Etatawarded Jun 27, 2025

39,500,000 EUR

TED award notice total value, as the notice states it

awardedseats not stated

Source: TED415226-2025

OpenAI

OpenAI publishes pricing at openai.com/api/pricing (as of PriceTape's capture on Nov 3, 2026).

Changes on their pages

observed between Oct 28, 2025 and May 28, 2026

Swaps GPT-5 Lineup for Pricier GPT-5.5/5.4 Models

price from an archived copy

observed between Feb 1, 2025 and Oct 28, 2025

Swaps flagship pricing to GPT-5, adds AgentKit billing

price from an archived copy

observed between Jul 13, 2024 and Feb 1, 2025

Cuts GPT-4o price 50%, adds o1 and Realtime API pricing

price from an archived copy

observed between Feb 1, 2023 and Jul 13, 2024

Replaces Ada/Davinci pricing with GPT-4o; adds DALL·E 3, Assistants API fees

price from an archived copy

observed between Nov 20, 2021 and Feb 1, 2023

Cuts base GPT-3 prices up to 67%; adds DALL·E, fine-tuning pricing

price from an archived copy

Government contracts

U.S. federal executive-branch agencies (via GSA OneGov/Multiple Award Schedule)negotiated Aug 6, 2025

1 USD

None

negotiatedseats not stated

Source: government contracthttps://www.gsa.gov/about-gsa/newsroom/news-releases/gsa-announces-new-partnership-with-openai-delivering-deep-discount-to-chatgpt-08062025